Coop questions... please help :)

Yogimama

Chirping
Apr 17, 2022
Central NYS
So, I’m new to chickens (don’t even have them yet). The plan is to start with 6. I am in central NY, so cold temps, snow (and lots of wind).

I apologize in advance...I have done a ton of reading but still have a TON of questions on this, so this will be long 😳😬

I am trying to refurb this solid wood garbage can “house” to use as a coop. (At least for now). I would like to build bigger but this option was 100% free, so trying to make it work for now.

The dimensions are : 50” high at back, 40” high in front (the open side), 36” deep & 86” long.

It’s made from hemlock, and stained. The roof is metal attached to the rafters, no insulation or plywood. Currently lid lifts but I will likely at least latch it down to keep the wind from whipping it up, depending on the input I get.

The plan: build a 8’ x 10’ run 2” x 4” construction with 1/4” hardware cloth on all sides and coming out two feet horizontally around the outside. I plan to cover the run with metal panels, pitched to help with rain/snow, high enough to walk into. The run would be built as a solid piece, placed up against the coop, attached on the back (highest) side, only where we cut out the door/ramp for them. We’ll build the door framing with the hardware cloth from the run integrated so there’s no way for any predator to get in.

The coop (staying up about 2’ off ground on the pallets) would be lined on the floor and at least part way up the walls with some older linoleum I have laying around, and coop itself would help block wind/snow from the run, and the coop roof would be angled away, to not let rain dump into run.

Two large doors would replace the broken doors, one of which would have a window & one (on the left side) would have the nesting boxes built into it (so they are not taking up interior space).