Coop related question about poop.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Hammond Egger, Oct 12, 2011.

1. Hammond Egger

Hammond Egger Out Of The Brooder

Sep 27, 2011
    I'm a total noob so I'm still designing....or re-designing my coop. I've decided I want it elevated three foot off the ground. it will be 8x12 and I can't see wasting 96 square feet of space. What I'm thinking about doing for the floor is having 4 foot of mesh, then 4 foot of solid floor, and then another four foot of mesh. The 4x8 section of solid floor will be covered with either sand or pine shavings. I intend to have 4x8 sliding trays under the sections of the floor that have mesh screen on them and the roosts will be above them. I'm going to have a rubber squeege mounted under the floor so that when I pull the poop trays out the poop will be scraped off and deposited in a bin sitting on the ground. My question is do the birds poop mostly when they are on the roosts or will I have poop mostly in the section of floor that is solid and covered with litter. If you can't visualize what I've got in mind I'll try and post a rough sketch. Your thoughts....

2. TinyChickenLady

TinyChickenLady Chillin' With My Peeps

From looking at my roosting areas, I would say they mostly poop when roosting so your idea sounds pretty genius IMO

3. GoldDogsMom

GoldDogsMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2011
    Indiana, PA
    Sounds ingenious! Would love to see your design!

4. airmechreed

airmechreed Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    Colorado Springs
    when they roost.....or at least mine do:D

5. KandiandJerry

KandiandJerry Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:Yep, mostly when they roost...would love to see your design...

6. wyododge

wyododge Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2011
    Wyoming
    Not sure if you have tested your design, but I have to use a putty knife to get poop off sometimes. So a really stiff squeegee may be required.