1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Coop size for dutch bamtams

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by dainironfoot, Mar 5, 2012.

1. dainironfoot

dainironfoot Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2010
    woodburn, Oregon
    Hi guys! I have a few years experience raising standard size chickens but am new to bantams. I am hatching some Dutch Bantams right now and was wondering how much space I would need for a trio. Thanx in advance for the help!

-Tony

2. gabbyscritters

gabbyscritters Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    fredonia, wi
    You will love your Dutch, especially being able to raise them from day 1. I hope they hatch out well for you, we have found them very easy to hatch, have 40 older Dutch chicks in the barn in a coop we use as a big booder, 25 in the kitchen brooder and I'm not sure how many have hatched out right now in the hatcher also in the kitchen.

Just came in from checking on the youngsters in the barn, they are 4 & 5 weeks old. They just moved outside a few days ago, their new trick is to hop up on my back and crawl up to my shoulder when i'm bending down to fill the feeder. I had at least 6 little Dutch on my shoulder and back this morning.
    My daughters older Dutch are tame, personable, curious & come for treats but only a few are real freindly, they were 10 to 12 weeks when we got them. It really makes a difference getting a close people conection from day one, they are sweet birds by nature so they can tame up real easy.