Coop suggestions?

kirbyekitchen

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 5, 2014
Georgia
Can anyone help me?

I have six brahma chicks that are almost 3 weeks old. This weekend, my husband and I plan to start construction on our coop. We have salvaged some wood from various places and some shingles and tar paper as well. We want them to have PLENTY of space, since we won't miss that part of the backyard; and from what I understand I will probably be tempted to add to the flock as time goes by.

Here are my questions:

1) Being bigger birds, will brahmas need more space than usual? How much per bird?

2) How many nesting boxes?

3) Do you prefer a coop that you can walk into? I am wondering if this helps with cleaning.

4) Would it be a good idea for our coop to have electricity? We live in the southeast... So hot, humid summers and basically mild winters.

Any other tips? I am completely new to this and I would like to get it right the first time so we are all happy with it right from the start. Thanks!

-Kirby

Minimum space per bird is a total of 6 sq feet per bird. That usually breaks down to 2ft inside coop and 4ft in run. With this amount of space your birds can live just fine. Now that isn't to say that they are happy, but they are ok. The more space you give them the less problem you will have with your flock due to stress caused by crowding. Also you will need to clean it less often. I do think the walk in style is easier and more comfortable to clean.
The rule of thumb is 1 nesting box per 3 birds. If you can round up and give them an extra box you will have fewer birds screaming at each other "to get out of the box." True story they will stand outside of the box and yell at the bird who is hogging the box. Sometimes they will give up and try sharing the box.
If it is easy to wire then give yourself an electrical plug. If not it is easy to live without. If you want to keep your birds laying in the winter you do need to supplement with extra hours of light.