1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Coop vs. Run

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by SoCal-ludic, Jan 28, 2016.

1. SoCal-ludic

SoCal-ludic Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2016
    Rancho Cucamonga
    I am new at this. I have built a coop that has a raised roost - 5 ft X 6 ft - with a secure coop of about 6ft X 14ft. I built three nest boxes in the roost area, with a lid which can be accessed from outside the coop. I only have 3 nesting boxes in the roost. I plan on building additional nesting boxes on the floor of the coop. The question is will any hens go back into the roost to lay eggs during the day? If not, the why did I build the nesting access to the coop? Like I said - I am new at this, and maybe not too smart.

2. junebuggena

junebuggena Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    Once they get in the habit of using the nest boxes, that is where they will lay their eggs. However, new layers don't know where you want them to lay. Getting them to use the nest boxes can take time and patience. Dummy eggs inside the nest boxes will help to show them where their eggs are supposed to go, but it can take weeks for them to be able to control exactly where and when they lay. In the meantime, you can and will find eggs all over the place.

3. Spartan22

Spartan22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2014
    North Canton, Ohio
    Ditto [email protected] it takes some practice, then they will have a habit of laying in the nesting boxes. I got 15 layers right now w/ 8 nesting boxes but they only use 3 or 4.

4. SoCal-ludic

Jan 17, 2016
    Rancho Cucamonga