Cornish rocks

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by PhlyinPheBee, Mar 22, 2009.

1. PhlyinPheBee

PhlyinPheBee Poodles, Chicken, Goats--OH MY!!

Mar 11, 2009
    Northeast Louisiana
    Hi there. I am new to the chicken life. Reading on this topic I am worried that I might have made a mistake. I bought several chicks from TSC last week. 2 of them are to be cornish rocks st run. I know what st run is but did not know anything about them except that they were going to be a big white bird.

My big question is does this mean that they are meat birds? Not meant to have in a free range flock of egg layers? Should I keep them apart from the banties and other chicks that I bought?

Thanks for all info you can share!

Rene'

2. freddy22

freddy22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2008
    Illinois
    st run? or straight run.....just making sure because i have never heard of a st. run breed....they should be meat birds if they are cornish, and - correct me if i am wrong - big commercial meat chicken facilities breed cornish with a white rock bird? for better results.....

3. PhlyinPheBee

Mar 11, 2009
    Northeast Louisiana
    sorry.....my shorthand is not the best. yes straight run is right.

4. Robin'sBrood

Robin'sBrood Flock Mistress

May 8, 2008
    North Carolina
    Quote:I picked up 6 chicks at TS on Friday and I'm afraid I may have 4 Cornish Rocks in my brooder too. There wasn't much left to choose from and they had mixed all the chicks together... the layers and the meaties. Darn that stupid 6 chick rule, now I'm stressing over possibly having meat birds! [​IMG]

5. PhlyinPheBee

Mar 11, 2009
    Northeast Louisiana
    My only saving grace is that my uncle will take them if the really are a meat bird. I so cannot bear to have to butcher them.

I had the choice wether or not to pick them. I just thought I would a variety of them. Boy I wish I could go back in time and not pick them out.

Rene'

6. freddy22

freddy22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2008