Cost of raising the average backyard flock....

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by GuamChicken, Mar 31, 2015.

1. GuamChicken

GuamChicken Out Of The Brooder

May 14, 2014
    Hello,

I'm just curious on what other opinions are on this topic. I took up chicken raising as a pure hobby, and love it. Money is not a factor whatsoever. I do it because it's fun, and interesting to me. However, it cost me a ****load of money I am realising. I only raise the chickens for eggs and homestead type purposes, ( pets ?? ) I'm not a meat processor by any means. I am just curious how people actually do this for a profit, I would be very interested to hear the techniques. The feed alone cost me about $50 / month. Plus bedding and misc supplies about $20 / month. That is a lot of egg sales to cover that spread. This is not counting the upfront cost of my incubators, coop building cost etc. Thanks.

2. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Truth is, most don't.
    Do an advanced search on cost and there are several threads out there discussing it.

I track my feed cost and egg sales closely and come out ahead most the time. But I'm keeping it small, just a few customers who are friends, cause if you have to expand your sales market the time quotient goes way up.

3. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    Can I ask what you're paying for feed, and what you're getting for eggs? (PM if you'd rather)

4. GuamChicken

May 14, 2014
    I'm assuming you are not asking me, correct ?

5. Mrs. K

Mrs. K Overrun With Chickens

Nov 12, 2009
    western South Dakota
    It is like any other business, you want it fancy, it will eat money. Keep it tight, well not so much.

A woman a couple of years ago, when people were complaining about the cost, kept it pretty simple.