Coturnix cage questions

Discussion in 'Quail' started by momto8kiddos, Feb 6, 2011.

1. momto8kiddos

momto8kiddos New Egg

Apr 16, 2009
    Hey everybody,

I've spent about two days reading through all the great info on this site. The helpful attitude here is terrific!

I'm a complete newbie to quailing or any kind of birding [​IMG]. So I've been looking through all the info on cages. Some of them have an enclosed area. Some provide nesting material such as straw. Others are just bare wire. So I'm a little confused as to what I actually need.

We are planning on hosting 25 Coturnix quail for eggs for our family of 12. In the future we may do meat as well but I want to get my feet wet first before deciding. We live in Virginia where it can get down to the teens but sometimes to the single digits in the winter. It gets hot and humid here, typically lower 90's but sometimes as high as 100. We basically live in the woods so wind will not be much of a problem. But we will have predators such as raccoons, foxes, rats, mice, snakes. Our hope is to make the cage somewhat moveable (like an elevated chicken tractor) so that we can place it over our inactive garden beds to enrich the soil without having to dump the pans everyday. Whatever is the least amount of work, right?

The dimensions I'm thinking of is 6' x 2' x 12" with a roof on 3' legs. I'm planning on using 1/4" hardware cloth over the whole thing plus making a double bottom to prevent predators from reaching through to the bird feet/legs.

1. How much space should I leave between the two bottoms.

2. Do I need double sides or double tops?

3. Will they lay their eggs just on bare wire wherever they are or do I need an enclosed area for them to lay in?

4. If they need an enclosed area, is it okay to use hardware cloth on the floor in that area?

5. If I have closeable shutters on the outside for when the weather is bad, will that be enough of a enclosed area for their needs?