Coturnix genetics

Discussion in 'Quail' started by ecogen, Aug 5, 2009.

1. ecogen

ecogen In the Brooder

Mar 18, 2009
    I am a molecular geneticist by trade (although with plants), but would like to play around with quail for a hobby. In bioenergy and agricultural plants we have nice germplasm resources that we often go to when starting a new breeding project. I understand this is not the case in cortunix.

So I was wondering if there are folks out there who have taken a line (e.g., texas A&M, italian etc.) and worked hard to preserve its trait characteristics? If so, is there a list of such folks somewhere willing to sell eggs?

Also, I am a complete newbie to quail genetics so are there any good books, websites, publications, etc. on the subject?

I would like to work on longevity, egg size, and perhaps overall size. Any advice on those traits would be appreciated. thanks.

2. macnugget

macnugget Songster

Monarc23 she will have your answers she is our genetic nut so to speak

3. Ironsun

Ironsun Chirping

Jun 17, 2009
    Cumbria
    Hi,

I don't claim to know anything about genentics, I know very little how it really works.

I'm mainly intrested how colour/feather pattern is passed from one generation to another and is now setting up a colour breeding programme with 9 groups to see what happens.

Normal wild type feather pattern

Normal X Normal = 100% Normal.
    Normal X Cinnamon = ?
    Normal X Fawn = ?
    Cinnamon X Normal = ? Under going.
    Cinnamon X Cinnamon = ? Under going.
    Cinnamon X Fawn = ? Under going.
    Fawn X Normal = ?
    Fawn X Cinnamon = ?
    Fawn X fawn = ?

I've just managed to buy three other colours in the normal feather pattern But they are not in the States yet, or very few are available. Platinum male, Silver and Cream Females.

Any help from a expert like yourself is welcome by me.
    Monarc is our genentic person to contact she will help you out with just about any thing. lol.

Ironsun.

4. ecogen