Coturnix Housing?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by noodlesluvspie, Jan 1, 2017.

1. noodlesluvspie

noodlesluvspie New Egg

Dec 30, 2016
    Hi! I'm new to the world of raising and keeping coturnix quail and I have a few questions about housing. My questions are, what kind of housing is best for coturnix? Do wire bottom coops hurt their feet? Where is the best place to keep them (indoors or outdoors)? It would be really appreciated if someone could help me out with this as I have already done a lot of research but I'm still confused on this subject. If you'd like to show me pictures of your quail housing that would be awesome. I would also greatly appreciate any other information on this subject or coturnix in general. Thanks!

2. Silkiehen

Silkiehen Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2014
    I started a thread similar to this one. I was told that the poop can harden on the wire and cut their feet and it can give them bumble foot.

3. noodlesluvspie

noodlesluvspie New Egg

Dec 30, 2016
    Yeah, I've always been hesitant to use wired cages because of this. Thanks for your help!

4. Binki

Binki Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2015
    Ontario, Canada
    I'll copy my reply from silkiehen's post :)

I would not use wire for several reasons, first it's unnatural and can't imagine them feeling as safe and comfortable as a full floor of bedding.

Second, the poo has to be mashed with their feet through the wire to hit the bottom. Mine average nickel sized turds xD

Third, it coats the wire and gets sharp as the other poster mentioned and will start cutting up their feet.

Lastly, to clean it, you would have some scrubbing on your hands as quail poop is like cement when it's dry. Oh and you would also have to clean where the poop lands and since there's no bedding it will smell more because it will take longer to dry.