Coughing with neck swelling

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by HH.Wench, Apr 26, 2019.

1. HH.Wench

HH.Wench Chirping

Jun 24, 2018
    SE USA
    One of my hens has been coughing and appears to have a swelling on the -back- center of her neck. A 2nd hen also seems to have developed a swelling on the center back of her neck also but has no cough. Any idea what this combination of symptoms could be?

They free range and are very flighty, so I cant get near them. They haven't been wormed in a year and its been wet, warm and humid.

Ive never had a sick bird before; should I just start out trying Safeguard? The puffed section of feather on the center back of neck has me stumped. Tractor supply is my closet store with poultry meds.

2. If the swelling is significant enough, I'd guess the cough is an indicator it's affecting her breathing or swallowing. It also could indicate a parasite called gapeworm, though I have little personal knowledge of it or know what to trerat it with specifically. My go-to for parasites is the pour-on Ivermectin from the cattle section of the feed store. I don't know how well Safeguard does for gapeworm, IF that's what this is. It certainly couldn't HURT, if the issue is actually a parasite. I'd quickly follow it up with Ivermectin, though - in a week or so. Then, since you need to dose twice with whatever you use, you might wwant to redose with Safeguard, then with Ivermectin, once again, to catch any eggs that have hatched. Of course, if it's an infection or reaction from a bite or sting, or if it's a cyst or tumor, neither of those will help. So, we need a closer look at what's going on!