Could intoduction to a new flock cause any stress illnesses?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Parks Guy, Dec 6, 2013.

1. Parks Guy

Parks Guy New Egg

Dec 6, 2013
    Herriman, Utah
    Ok, so I am new to the chicken world. Built a coop, hen house and started getting chickens... I picked up two leghorns (18-24 months old), both molting from one flock, then I got a Buff Orphington (1 yr old) and two pullet Barred Rocks from another flock a week later.

I did not read about isolation until after introducing the Buff Orphington and Barred rocks to the leghorns. So now, two weeks later, one of the barred rocks has some diarrhea. It happens to be the smallest of the ladies, and seems that it is lowest in the pecking order. Also, the Buff Orphington began to molt within the first few days.

None of them are laying eggs yet. I was hoping that the leg horns, which now seem to have all of their feathers back and are looking very healthy, would have started.

Just wondering if the stress could cause any of these issues, or if I need to start checking for worms or some other health cause.

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan :D

It would certainly be a good idea to check for worms. Also, carefully check each bird for lice and mites. Stress can cause some of the issues you describe, although this time of year many hens cut back or stop laying altogether due to the short days.

3. Parks Guy

Parks Guy New Egg

Dec 6, 2013
    Herriman, Utah
    Thanks for the information.

I have sprinkled in some DE into their pine shavings bedding, hopefully that may take care of any lice and/or mites.