Could it be molting? pics

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by motorboy, Dec 11, 2008.

1. motorboy

motorboy Out Of The Brooder

Jul 29, 2008
    River Falls, WI
    This is my first year of chickening so I don’t know what molting looks like. In addition, she is only 7 months old. She preens herself and pulls out a lot of feathers. At first I thought it was mites even though I didn’t find any so I treated her with 2 powders and a flea bath. After all this she pulled out 30 feathers in 8 hours. So then I thought she pulled them out from stress because her gal pal was taken away by a fox. I tried to apply a mix of Vaseline and red pepper to stop her picking and a lot of feathers were pulling out just by them sticking to my fingers. In addition she has a respiratory and eye infection I am treating with great success with Terramycin soluble powder at 1 Tsp per quart. and topical antibacterial gel around her eyes.

So, do you think it is molting?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. cheeptrick

cheeptrick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2007
    New Hampshire
    They can go into hard molt and drop all their feathers very quickly...but if you say she did this to herself in 8 hours....I'd suggest you up her protein (cat food, black oil sunflower seeds, cottage cheese).

I know when they are sick they can drop/molt their feathers prematurely....so I'd keep up the terramycin as prescribed.

BLUEKOTE/REDKOTE can be applied to the bare patch to prevent others from pecking her....keep her quarantined/separated.

Good Luck...hope she feels better soon.

3. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC