Could she be a he?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Wdchickens, Mar 5, 2014.

1. Wdchickens

Wdchickens Out Of The Brooder

Dec 25, 2013
    [​IMG]
    So, we got three of our flock at about 10 weeks old or so. Then we got two slightly older ones. One of the older ones grew a big comb and waddles and started crowing. So we know he is a rooster obviously. We assumed the other 4 were hens, and the one slightly older one just began laying :D. Of the little 3, one is beginning to grow a comb. I know nothing of chickens or breeds as I am a newbie. So the one in question is the spotted brown and white one. Here's a pic, what do you guys think? Roo or hen? I hope hen because we didn't want a rooster to begin with, and we certainly can't keep two...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    I'm thinking rooster. How old is the bird? and can you get a closer, clear profile shot? I can't see the saddle feather area well.

3. Wdchickens

Dec 25, 2013
    My guess would be around 18 weeks old. I'll go see if I can get a better pic. He/she is very skittish.

4. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

Roosters have WATTLES .......

5. Wdchickens

Dec 25, 2013
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Well I apologize about pic quality. I took them with my iPad and its not real bright out. Digi cam is broken. But at least it's a better angle I hope.

6. Wdchickens

Dec 25, 2013

Well thank you for correcting me... so far this bird has no WATTLES

7. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

:)

8. barbschickens

barbschickens Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2014
    I'm thinking it could be a rooster. Although,hens do have combs,but they are quite a bit smaller than the rooster's. I think you should wait until you get further evidence such as crowing. :)

9. Wdchickens

Dec 25, 2013