Could someone help me with these 3 ...needing their breeds....

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Rhonda0115, Mar 23, 2013.

1. Rhonda0115

Rhonda0115 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2013
    Central Missouri
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. dretd

dretd Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2009
    Ft Collins, CO
    Hi Rhonda00515 and [​IMG]

Could you give us a little more background on these cuties? Are they from a hatchery or did you hatch them yourself?

Not sure if I can help because these are guesses.

The first one looks like it has white feet and was a chipmunk chick. Can't see the comb but I am guessing Speckled Sussex based on those two things.

Second I see a straight comb, yellow legs and a dark yellow chick growing reddish feathers, so I am thinking a production red or RIR (Rhode Island Red) but I have no personal experience with those breeds so is amy be something else.

Three-I will have to think about, nothing specific jumps out right now.

I am also thinking roos--were they extra chicks from a hatchery?

Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  3. Rhonda0115

Mar 22, 2013
    Central Missouri
    Got them from a hatchery as part of a Heavy Breed package. They are about 3-4 weeks old now. All are cockerels. I love the coloring on these guys and am thinking about keeping them but kind of wanted to figure out breed to know what kinds of temperament, etc. might happen.

Thank you for helping me out.

4. Rhonda0115

Mar 22, 2013
    Central Missouri
    What does chipmunk chick mean? [​IMG]

5. dretd

Apr 14, 2009
    Ft Collins, CO
    There are many breeds of chickens that have babies that have a brown "v" on the top of the head that continues with a dark brown stripe running down their back. There have various degrees of eye liner or sometimes splotchiness to the brown patterning on the head to help figure out what breed it is. The are called chipmunk because they resemble chipmunks.