Could use some thoughts

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by vegjet, Jul 19, 2010.

1. vegjet

vegjet Out Of The Brooder

Apr 6, 2010
    Sidney, Montana
    Ok this is my first real post other then introductions. I am a newbie chicken owner [​IMG] and my girls are 16 weeks old. They have been free ranging for the last month and LOVE it! Question 1 is, do I wait to see an egg then lock them up until they learn to lay in the coop?

Question 2, I fixed the laying box so they would not roost on it anymore, so now they are roosting IN the laying box (only about 8 of them, I have 23 pullets and 3 roosters), I blocked the boxes off for a few days but my DH said it was too close to them starting to lay, so I uncovered them. Do I let them roost on top? I have tried to get them on the roosts by placing them there, they laugh at me:lol:.[​IMG]

Question 3 is My BSL roo is already bumpin' uglies with the hens and he holds them by the head and they scream (do chickens scream?). So is he inexperienced and will get better OR stewpot material?? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! Oh btw I have a muti tiered roost in the coop and the rest of the chickens find their respective spot like good little chickens [​IMG]

Question 4 My girls, especially the Australorps and BSL wattles and combs are VERY red, I know this is an indication they might lay soon, when do I need to look for eggs??

Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

[​IMG]

Here are my thoughts:

Put wooden eggs or golf balls or something like that in the nest boxes now. If the pullets come back and put themselves away at night in the coop like good girls, you don't need to lock them up in the coop. You may still find a "yard egg" or two while they figger it out; first eggs sometimes startle the girls and they don't make it back to the nest in time.