couple questions-putting purchased fertile eggs under your broody hen

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Bocktobery 10, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Bocktobery 10

Bocktobery 10 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2010
    Hi,

I have only been chicken keeping for one year now. I have a Buff Orpington who has just gone broody. (my first) Its been about 4 days now, and while I can get her off the nest for a while, she has always been going back to it after about an hour or two of being off. She is really acting nutty, that's for sure!!! I don't have a rooster, but I was thinking about getting a few more chicks this year that are of another breed. (I have 7 chickens of 4 different breeds) I heard about putting fertile eggs under a broody hen, so I thought why not try and have her hatch my new chickens. I've never done this before, so I'm not even sure it is going to work. I'm worried it would most likely be a waste of money. I don't have a incubator either, though I have a friend who told me if I wanted, I could borrow one of his sister's incubators.

I noticed that there are people here that sell fertile eggs, however, I am looking to have only about 5 or 6 new chicks. Because of the size of my coop, I don't think that having any more than that would be a good idea. Most of the eggs for sale are sold in bunches of 8 or more. Is it feasible to ask a seller if they can only give me a few? Or are there reasons why it always is more than 8 eggs? Also, I am looking for dark chocolate egg layers and also robin's blue egg layers- is it possible to get 3 eggs of each from a seller? Should I just email the folks who are selling to ask if they can do this for me, or would that be rude?