1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

"Cover crop" for chickens?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by dchickenman, Apr 13, 2010.

1. dchickenman

dchickenman Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    Don't have a big area to work with, just want to know if chickens prefer one kind of grass over another? Or maybe some clover. If so what kind is best? I'm just reseeding some bare spots in the backyard & letting them fill in a little before I turn the chickens loose on them.

Thanks for any suggestions!

2. Want Less

Want Less Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2010
    New Bern, NC
    *trying to remember... excuse the fact that I'm a sleep deprived sleep tech at the moment...*

I believe Mother Earth News just had an article about this in one of their recent magazines I picked up at the library not long ago. Not the current issue, I think it was the one before? I just remember it mentioning specific cover crops for gardens that chickens liked.

3. Organics North

Organics North Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2009
    Wisconsin Northwoods
    White clover!
    Stays short, blends in well with lawn. Matter of fact in our harsh climate it grows better than grass..
    ON
    Oh yes Chickens love love love it.

4. digitS'

digitS' Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2007
    ID/WA border
    I overseeded a part of my lawn a couple of years ago. It was getting very thin under a large tree, so I bought a shade mix that was a blend of fescues. There were some other grasses already there but not much.

A bag of alfalfa pellets was sprinkled over the grass seed and soon, there were grass seedlings coming up throughout this area. There seems to be no white clover here, altho' it is in other parts of the backyard.