crazy amount of feathers in run

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jtbrown, Jun 5, 2012.

1. jtbrown

jtbrown Songster

Mar 30, 2011
    Southeastern Ohio
    I am new to ducks, started with 4 pekins, rehomed 2 when realized I had 3 boys and one girl. They currently are in a very well proteced, enclosed pen with a little duck home and two small ponds that I dump, clean and refill every other day (one a day).

There are feathers EVERYWHERE, small little curly white feathers. Is this normal? The ducks have beautiful white coats, very smooth and full, especially compared to my chickens. This is much more feather loss that I expect in my entire flock of chickens. Is this normal? The ducks appear healthy, happy, playful, groom themselves regularly.

I see no bare areas or even thin areas in their coat, so kind of think this is normal, but can anyone else with experience help me out here? Is this normal?

2. Mike Winters

Mike Winters Songster

Nov 13, 2011
    if they are both ok then maybe the male was trying to mate with the female and took a bunch of feathers out of her because she didn't want his advances and drakes don't take no for an answer

3. DuckLover3

DuckLover3 Chirping

Feb 16, 2012
    Marlborough, CT
    Could they be molting?

4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    I think either of the above two ideas is possible. When my ducks first molted, indeed, there were small, curly feathers all over the place! And they were living in my house at the time. Yikes!

Watch closely and see if he is aggressive with her or not so much.

You may need to take in more females.

5. jtbrown

jtbrown Songster

Mar 30, 2011
    Southeastern Ohio
    I will watch, they are only a few months old, I haven't seen any intent or attempt to mate.