Crazy feather situation - I need some help to identify!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lollimama, Aug 13, 2011.

1. lollimama

lollimama Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2011
    I'm new to chickinhood -in fact today we just inherited our first two hens from some friends along with all the necessities (coop, feeders, etc. etc.). We were forwarned that one of the hens was pecking at the other and so she looked kind of bad. Well here is a picture...and after searching around here I'm not convinced it's from pecking? All the pecking mentioned here was on the back (where Rosie's feathers are thick still). Her bum is totally bare too and red. What a bummer! She looks like she was recued from a gutter somewhere, I'm just not sure what to do. The other hen is looking great - full feathers etc. I know this all started a while ago (maybe a few months) and from what I remember they said the other hen was pecking at their other hens too (that were consequently eaten by their family dog - hence the reason they were so anxious to give us all their chicken goodies for free!). I'm afraid that this could be lice? or mites? But wouldn't the other hen show signs as well? I do believe that she has been laying still - although not recently after the trauma of another friend being lost to the dog and of course now a move. I've looked around on here and it seems like she looks horrible in comparason to the other ailing chickens I've seen pictures of. I really need help diagnosing this!

[​IMG][/img]

[​IMG]

2. CinnamonQueen12

CinnamonQueen12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2011
    Could be a turken? Or maybe a golden buff that lost some feathers in a fight?

3. lollimama

Aug 13, 2011