1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Creating my coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by madibhai, Sep 19, 2012.

1. madibhai

madibhai Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2012
    I am new to the back yard chickening.

Question 1

I purchased chickens and they have been going strong. Although one has turned in to a rooster. I don't know what to do with that, so far he is ok, will he be ok with the kids in the future?

I have the small coop that I purchased from ebay. From there I attached it to the back fence which is a run. Later I created this large enclosure after I saw that the run was being constantly attacked by cats and raccoons.

So this is what I have.

Question 2

Any critiques? How can I improve it? The box stated that we can fit 4-6 chickens in there. The nest boxes on the side of my coop. The chickens sleep in there and they poop in it constantly. I have yet to get an egg from there.

Question 3

I want to get 3 more chickens to add to my flock. But do I need to have a new coop in there, is the coop big enough if they are sleeping in the nest boxes anyway. I was thinking of creating my own nest boxes somewhere to allow them to sleep in the coop.

Question 4

Also what do I do in the wintertime for the water? How often do I have to replace the water bucket?[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  2. PeepsAreForMe

PeepsAreForMe Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2012
    Pemberton Borough, NJ
    Welcome fellow BYC'er! I had to laugh when you said you didn't know what to do with the fact that you got a rooster!! What breed is he, do you know? I know certain breeds are friendlier than others. Is there an ordinance against roosters where you live? Because he will wake everyone up early!