Critique my coop!!!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Winston, Aug 12, 2011.

1. Winston

Winston Out Of The Brooder

Jul 13, 2011
    This is my first year with chickens. Non of mine are laying yet and they are in a temporary coop. I currently have 2 Buff Brahmas and 13 Dominiques (1 rooster), but I am planning on thinning them down to 10 for now. I want to raise more as I go. I am trying to design my coop to have 2 holding areas to handle 10 chickens each. I have already discovered the importance of being able to separate when needed.

I have the materials and my size is set, 8'x12'. I am building out of materials I have (old barn wood, windows, doors). I am wondering if I am trying to cram too much in it. I want an entry to store feed and supplies and 2 holding areas. The areas inside will be separated by regular poultry netting. I am planning on having a slide gate of netting to separate the two areas that can be removed to make one big area. You can see my slide gate under the storage shelf.

I have 2 chicken doors front and back for each area, with a run made of electric poultry netting that I move around as needed.

I dont not know what else to add so here are my conceptual drawings (my first time using google sketch up so be gentle about the presentation), but please ask questions about the layout because I need it.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Savannah Poultry

Savannah Poultry The Source

Mar 29, 2010
    Lakeview, OR