Crooked neck and seizures? Someone help please?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ResidentEvilRock, Jun 3, 2008.

1. ResidentEvilRock

ResidentEvilRock Out Of The Brooder

May 19, 2008
    I just picked up 6 barred rock chicks today. They look to be about 1 month old. As I got them home, I noticed two of them are....very sick. They both have crooked neck. There necks are bent upside down and all they do is try to walk, fall over and go into seizures. I'm new in the chicken thing, and I have no idea what is wrong with them. What can I do? Do they have a disease, birth defect or what?

2. ResidentEvilRock

May 19, 2008
    Well, I just did a little bit of research and it looks like it possibly may be Newcastle Disease. The neck condition is called Torticollis. Anyone have any experience with this particular disease? I hope there is something I can do, these two are suffering.

3. pixiechick

pixiechick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2008
    Jonesborough, TN
    I've no experience with this, but KEEP THEM SEPERATED so it doesn't spread to your other chickens.

Anybody else have suggestions?

4. ResidentEvilRock

May 19, 2008
    Yes, they are now fully separated.

5. ruth

ruth Life is a Journey

Jul 8, 2007
    Woodville, MS
    It could just be wry neck aka crook neck aka limp neck. You can do a search and find many threads. It's pretty common. My Ruth had it. Can be caused by malabsorption/vitamin deficiency.