Cross your fingers!

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by Soph xo, Jan 19, 2010.

1. Soph xo

Soph xo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 17, 2010
    Australia
    Hi there, well I'm new to poultry, I've always loved animals, all animals, and recently decided (and persuaded my parents) that we should keep some chickens. After a lot of research I decided on silkies. They look beautiful, they're gentle and they make great mothers. Some friends down the road own a lot of chickens and breed all differents kinds, so my best friend and I decided to go and visit her chickens (she was on holidays but said we could go down). After crooning over the chickens for a good hour, my friend wanted to go and look for what used to be one of his favourite chickens, a micro hen of the frizzle variety. Unable to find her, we went home disappointed concluding that she'd passed away. The next day, we went down again to play with the chickens and were still unable to see the micro frizzle. After going for a swim we went to check all the chickens were locked away safe when I saw a small, chestnut brown frizzle hen clucking around the yard. Calling my friend he came to see and confirmed it was her. Overjoyed, we went in to go and give her a cuddle. She seemed stressed and distracted so we let her down. Once we left the coop we spied over the fence to watch her and check she wasn't being bullied. After a few minutes to our surprise she hopped into a horse-feed trough left on its side and half full of sand. We peeked in curiously and what did we see, but 9 small, toasty warm eggs! The frizzle settled herself over them and snuggled down. There are two roosters in the coop with the micro frizzle, a beautiful white and black-specked rooster (sorry I don't know his breed), and a very adorable silkie rooster. Therefore, if the eggs are fertile, the chicks will be white frizzles with black specks or frizzles x silkies. As out friends down the road have lots of chickens and she breed