Crossbreed chickens.. Will they sell?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by HourihanRanch, Jan 20, 2016.

1. HourihanRanch

HourihanRanch New Egg

Jun 1, 2015
    Hi I'm new to chicken owning. My family & I own 8 chickens, One rooster seven hens.
    We have a motley crew of different breeds.
    The rooster is a silkie and the hens are Easter Eggers, 1 Buff Orpington, 1 Polish, and 1 silkie..
    My question are;
    ~If we were to hatch some fertile eggs would these crossbreed chicks sell?
    ~Does anyone have any success selling crossbred chickens?

Last edited: Jan 20, 2016
  2. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Overrun With Chickens

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    First [​IMG]
    Now to answer your question, WILL THEY SELL??? Most likely yes but mostly for pets. Barnyard mixes do not bring in a very high dollar. Even good hatchery grade chickens that lay well or broilers are not expensive at the feed stores in the spring time. The select grade show quality breeds are the ones with the higher $$$. and come from select breeders of specialty breeds.
    WISHING YOU BEST [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    I sell my Easter Egger mixes for $2 a chick. They sell very fast, especially if they are fall chicks. Check out what the feed stores in your area are charging per chick, and then price your's a bit lower. You might be able to get a bit more for them if the local stores only ever have production breeds.

1 person likes this.
  4. junebuggena

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    I only sell locally.

5. Bridebeliever

Bridebeliever Chillin' With My Peeps

The other option is selling them at point of lay. Then you could get $20 for them! (At least in my area.)

6. GodofPecking

GodofPecking Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2015