Crusty feathers???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by VerginateChicks, Sep 7, 2014.

1. VerginateChicks

VerginateChicks Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2014
    Bellano, Italy
    One of my hens has crusty dirt on the base of her feathers near the skin. But it is only on her tail feather area and under her beak and the upper sides of her neck. Today she has been sitting in the run, not sun bathing or anything, just sitting and sleeping, which is unusual for her. Any ideas of what it might be? Please keep in mind, I live in Italy. Here, chickens are looked at as food, not pets. There are no vets for chickens, no medicines, nothing. At least, not for individual chicken owners. I have to try and take care of my chickens with all natural things. If you have any advice on ways to better my chickens health as well as what might be causing the crusty feathers please share! I need all the help I can get. I'm still very new at having chickens, but I love them to death!

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    Sounds like poultry lice…does it look like this?

[​IMG]

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    You could be dealing with lice or mites. Lice eggs look more like whitish balls at the base of feathers with tiny tan fast-moving bugs crawling around. Mites can be light or red, slow-moving, and can leave dirty areas on skin. In the US, permethrin and sevin dust are both used, but in the UK, permethrin may be the only effective treatment. Here are 2 excellent links to read with pictures and recommended treatments:
    http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/pdf/8162.pdf
    http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/08/poultry-lice-and-mites-identification.html

4. VerginateChicks

VerginateChicks Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2014
    Bellano, Italy