Cuckoo Maran Rooster x (breed here) offspring?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by australorp_breeder, Jan 17, 2010.

1. australorp_breeder

australorp_breeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2009
    California
    I'm going to be buying an incubator and hatching eggs. It will be practice for me because I've never used an incubator before (normally I would let the hens just hatch them). I just got my rooster yesterday, and he just met the hens today. No breeding has occured yet.

Can anyone tell me, or have proof what the followings' offspring would look like? (If you can't tell me all, please tell me the ones that you do know.

a) Cuckoo Maran Rooster x Black Australorp Hen

b) Cuckoo Maran Rooster x Black Jersey Giant Hen

c) Cuckoo Maran Rooster x Blue Cochin Hen

d) Cuckoo Maran Rooster x Buff Orpington Hen

e) Cuckoo Maran Rooster x Buff Rock Hen

I have a few questions too please:

1) Can someone give me an estimate of how many days after a hen has been bred before her eggs will be fertile?

2) Can someone give me an estimate of how many days/weeks you think it would take for 14 hens to lay fertile eggs with one rooster? Or I was thinking maybe I could put a little bit at a time in a pen with him and let him breed them all that way. I could also get another rooster if need be.

2. onthespot

onthespot Deluxe Dozens

Mar 29, 2008
    Riverside/Norco, CA
    one roo should be able to handle the hens you have. Is he old enough? If he is of breeding age pretty soon he should be able to breed your hens successfully. start cracking tose eggs open and looking for the bullseye and you will know when it is time to incubate.

Barring/cuckoo is sex linked. Crossing a roo on any other color of hen will result in half the offspring being barred, half non-barred, of both sexes.

3. australorp_breeder

Sep 29, 2009
    California