1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Cuckoo Maran trouble walking and balancing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by KeriannG, Mar 19, 2017.

1. KeriannG

KeriannG Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2016
    Maryland
    Hello forum

I have a cuckoo maran about 5 months old who starting limping on her left leg about 10 days ago. It has gotten progressively worse and now the limp is dominate on her right leg. When standing still she seems to have trouble balancing. I purchased her at 5 weeks from McM so she was vaccinated for a few common things (don't recall specifics). She has yet to lay her first egg. I did try to check if she was egg bound but I'm a novice and don't believe I felt anything. I have been giving her baby aspirin but not sure that it is doing anything. Lastly there doesn't look like any signs of bumblefoot either. Please any suggestions are appreciated - I feel so bad for her and have no idea what to do.

Thank you
    Keri

I have a video but I can't post it. When I click on the video icon it doesn't do anything.:(

Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  2. Flock Master64

Flock Master64 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2016
    Surrounded by the Amish
    She could have bumble foot

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio