1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Culling: When and How?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Matt98, Aug 7, 2014.

1. Matt98

Matt98 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 25, 2014
    My rooster attacked me again [​IMG] I guess I have to face the facts that an aggressive roo is an aggressive roo. Worse still while defending myself I think I broke/injured his leg because he limped off fairly slow...
    So here are the questions - When? I'm thinking of just grabbing him off the roost in the early morning but I don't want the girls to be afraid of me when he never comes back haha
    And the grislier one of how - I will not be consuming his meat as it is tainted with evil lol but I still want his death to be relatively painless. How should I do it? I've never done it before and am fairly nervous [​IMG] Anything else I should expect?
    Thanks so much[​IMG]

2. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    Go ahead and grab him off the roost. The hens will have no idea why he doesn't come back - they don't have that much ability to reason things out. The meat is not tainted with evil, it's tainted with testosterone - perfectly safe to eat, but your choice. [​IMG] We use the stump-and-hatchet method here. Put two nails in a "v" shape in the stump, put the neck between the nails and lop the head off. It's over with in seconds. If you're not comfortable doing that, research killing cones and slitting the neck. Takes longer for the chicken to die since it's hanging there slowly bleeding out, but safer if you're not comfortable or sure of your aim with the hatchet, and there is less flopping around.

3. Matt98

Jul 25, 2014
    I think I'd be okay with your method, but how bloody is it? I don't want it all squirting into my face haha