Cure for Seizuring Rooster?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by SpaghettiMilk, Nov 26, 2016.

1. SpaghettiMilk

SpaghettiMilk New Egg

Nov 26, 2016
    Hello, I am fairly new with raising chickens and I extremely fear for one of their lives. About 3 or 4 months ago, I purchased 5 chickens. Two Rhode Island Red hens, 2 Black Sex Link hens, and one Welsummer rooster. Everything had gone fairly well up until this week. On monday (Nov 21st), I had noticed that my rooster was acting strange. His head was hunched over, wing feathers dragging against the ground, having trouble making noise, and seemed to be having trouble keeping his balance. Other than that, nothing else seemed to be wrong with him, so I talked with my family about it and they suggested that it might be a cold. They told me to wait and see if he could recover on his own. Today is Saturday, Nov. 26th and my Welsummer has what appeared to be two seizures. Over the few days I tried to let him recover on his own, I never noticed any signs of improving or getting worse. I did however, notice that he began to decline his food and water. Whenever I tried to get him to eat he would just stare or tilt his head slightly away from my palm. I only saw him drink a few times aswell. But today was one of the hardest days of my life. I had let him walk around with the hens to try and regain a little strength into him and after a while I went to check on them, he was nowhere to be found. As I began to search around, I finally came upon him, laying sideways on the ground. I had thought maybe he had fallen, so when I went to go pick him up he started rearing up and jerking around. I lay him down and he began spinning in circles, struggling to breathe. I took him into my arms and propped him up to try and get him to calm down, holding his neck with the tips of my fingers to aid in his breathing. Eventually, he calmed down, breathing came back to normal, and I didn't let him out of my sight