Curious about beef prices--what do you pay?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by monarc23, Jan 3, 2009.

1. monarc23

monarc23 Coturnix Obsessed

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Hi there!
    A lady I distribute hatching eggs for (while mine are barely laying) also has beef cattle she grass feeds as well as natural feeds (corn and other things grown on thier own farm, no hormones etc). I asked her today if those were her cattle and she said yes and said that she also sold their beef. Hubby and I have always wanted to buy farm raised beef instead of store bought.....so what are good/acceptable prices? Never bought like this before so very novice here. Either way we will be purchasing from her...just curious is all. [​IMG]

Half is something like $275 vaccume sealed and cut up however we want it.
    Quartered i don't remember the price but again vaccume sealed and cut up however we want it.

She's going to give us more information after she talks to her father who is incharge of taking the cattle to get slaughtered.

My other concern is our freezer, it's one of those verticle half freezer half fridge types. So I'm concerned about space.....is it possible to store a whole half of a packaged up the way we decide (ground and steaks probably) or would it deffinatly be smarter to go with quartered? I asked her about how BIG is a quarter, and she couldnt tell me either ha ha! *again it's her fathers thing*. Just curious if anyone who knows way more than me about this subject can give me some pointers, common prices and such.

800 lbs before slaughtered if that helps, they are half angus.

Thanks!
    Niki

2. Cara

Cara Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2007
    NM