Curious...how do you call your chickens to you?

aprhardy

Chirping
9 Years
Dec 3, 2010
Floyd Va
I'm still new to the chicken game, I was raised on a dairy farm, and now live on another dairy farm with my bf, I know with cattle you can develop a "call" so to speak and the cattle will come to you. Does anyone do this for chickens? I've tried one on mine and the hens usually ignore me and my roo's will bowl everyone over to get to me, (they know I have treats). My bf says I sound like I'm chicken yodeling, but it usually consists of "here chick chick chick" repeated several times.

Just curious if I'm the only nut ball out standing in their yard trying to "call" their chickens.

If this is something that works, how young do you start getting them used to "the call"? I have new chicks coming in a couple weeks and would really like a way to call them to me when they're older and out foraging.

Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions.

I just walk out and say, "here girls" and they come running.
wee.gif
They know there is usually a treat involved!
BTW, I trained mine with mini animal crackers, and they all know their names! (not the animal crackers
lau.gif
gig.gif
) Who said chickens are stupid?

Jen

Our girls come running and flapping from hither and yon to greet us the minute they hear the back door open. They'll stop whatever they're doing. Every once in a blue moon, they will be busy with some juicy bug or something they found & I'll have to call them. I make a clicking sound with my tongue and call, "Chick chick chick!"

So no, you're not the only hoo-haw in the yard calling their chickens.
smile.png

BTW, I trained mine with mini animal crackers, and they all know their names! (not the animal crackers )

yuckyuck.gif

Haha thanks for the tip on animal crackers. I'd have never thought about using those, I usually use Cheerio's. How young did you start training yours?​