Cutting Wings

Deer lane farm

In the Brooder
5 Years
Aug 26, 2014
My girls are only 3 1/2 weeks but I'm thinking ahead. I don't think I want to cut their wings, but this is my first time with chickens.
I would love peoples opinions. God gave chickens wings for a reason, it seems cruel to clip them off.

Yes I was just about to ask the same thing. Our girls are 6 weeks and although we do have a high fence we are going to clip for their own safety as we live in a suburban area.
I am wondering at what age is best to clip? Is it better to do it before they learn to fly? Their confidence is gaining everyday and they are enjoying flying leaps and exploring more.

Folks trim wing feathers on those who are escaping over fences. I looked at your previous posts, and you indicate you have welded wire on top of your runs. Not sure why you would want to trim wings.

Personally I agree with letting my flock be happy chickens. I wouldn't consider trimming wings unless it were to protect them from going over a fence into danger. If you do decide it is needed, please review descriptions of exactly what and how to do this.

Last edited:
I do how wire over their run but was going to let them out to roam once in a while when I'm outside. I have 7 acres and having a four foot fence put up. I guess they could wonder over to the road. Maybe I'll do one of those portable tracker things so they can explore other areas of the yard without the danger of cars.

If you don't clip their wings how high of a fence can they get over? I have 4 foot around the entire property. I really want to let my chickens free range. I would rather not clip. Also we have a lot of hawks around here so I'm not sure if this is a good idea. But I hate leaving them caged all the time. Their run is pretty big but it is not free.