Damaged wings

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Intrigue, Oct 10, 2012.

1. Intrigue

Intrigue New Egg

Sep 23, 2012
    Hello all,

I am new to chicken ownership and am already getting into the process of chicken nursing!

My chickens are now 10/11 weeks old (I have four light sussex and four RIR's).

Last week one of the RIR's got a fright and ran into the embers of what was recently a burning fire. I soaked its foot in cold water for about 1/2 hour and fortunately had no further problems (I guess they have tough feet).

This week one of my sussex hens must have misinterpretted the amount of overnight weight gain and when departing the roost must have had a bit of a crash landing (or at least thats what I am guessing happened). When I went to see them with their morning greens this particular hen did not come out, she was hiding. when I got her out I noted blood coming from her wing (I have a drawing so I think I can say the carpal joint area). When cleaning her up I realise that the whole area on the leading/underside of both wings are beaten up (quite a few small wounds, and a few blood haematomas). I would not be surprised if the tips of each wing are broken. (phalanges and metacarpals are they are rather black and swollen).