Dang Hawks......

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Doormantnt, Sep 14, 2009.

1. Doormantnt

Doormantnt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Glen Burnie, MD
    I've got (still got) six assorted breeds, all bout 20 weeks old, of which 4 are laying regular already. Well long story short, I just got in the the "chicken" hobby this year. Picked up the 6 ladies from the local feed store, brooded them in basement (for to long according to wife), them moved them out to their home in the back yard (WAY to much $), but it is nice 6x8 elevated coop with functional windows all around, exterior nest boxes and a 8x20 covered run (2x4 wire over 1/2" hardware cloth) and white fiberglass corragated roof....it is Fort Knox (I'm a fabricator/contractor by trade)....

So in an act of stupidity on my part I figure well dogs are locked up, so let the girls explore the yard...another chainlink only section of the yard about 30' x 40'....well I go back in the house and come back out about 20 minutes later to check on them after sittin with em for bout hour. When I come back on to the deck (straight sight line to coop) I see a "chicken" sitting on the roof of the run 8' off the ground....so off I go, well it takes of and swoops over the yard, empty taloned and into a large tree in the front yard....IT WAS A BIG HAWK....stood about 22-24 inches....

I'm in MD, and I have seen a couple eagles around the water, and some falcons, but NEVER a big ol' hawk, and NEVER sitting on MY CHICKEN COOP.......

All the girls are safe and secure, and I will only let them run when I am working in the yard with them, now thanks to a wake up call, but by grace of God they are all ok.

Do ya'll think that a big hawk would be "trouble" for 20+ week old chickens????

I have build in cover in their "play" area out side of run, and in corner of yard, but is there anything else I can do to let them out of the run, without overhead netting? and without standing constant guard??