dangerous chicken foods

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by mickeymousears, May 10, 2011.

1. mickeymousears

mickeymousears Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    SLO; CA
    Hi all!
    What are foods that should never be given to chickens??

I'm new to chickens but experienced with parrots and for example avocados can kill a parrot. Is there a list of foods to avoid with chickens?? Since they are in the backyard are there any injects or plant to keep them away from??

Thanks!!

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    1 person likes this.
  3. A.T. Hagan

A.T. Hagan Don't Panic

Aug 13, 2007
    North/Central Florida
    Basically nothing moldy or rotten.

Nor anything that is mostly fat and/or sugar. It's no better for them than it is for us.

Most anything else is OK because they generally won't eat it if it's dangerous. Presuming of course it's not contaminated with something toxic like pesticides and so on.

4. Theapplechicks

Theapplechicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2011
    I know citrus in on the no no list but I have also come across several places that said it's ok. The complaint was it could effect egg production??? Well my girls go absolutely CRAZY over a grapefruit! (and they have never had any problem with it and still lay just as good) Wouldn't touch a pomogranate but will tear a grapefruit to shreds! They also love leftover corn from dinner, salad (no dressing of course) bread loaf ends, and scrambled eggs...

Last edited: May 11, 2011
  5. Ariel301

Ariel301 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Kingman Arizona