Darn, I must be the only quail raiser in 100 miles or more!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Orange Ribbon, Nov 18, 2011.

1. Orange Ribbon

Orange Ribbon Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    As some know I got my first quail eggs in yesterday to hatch. Never had quail before. I studied some old post and learned that I better not ask for anything in this world except GBS. (Aren't you proud of me? [​IMG] ) So I checked Tractor Supply. THey don't have any, won't get any. Called Southern States, they don't carry it. Called another feed store in the next town over and they don't carry it. Gee whiz, I guess I should have looked into feed before I got them, but I never would have dreamed that would be a problem. Oh, I will find some if I have to go to the next state, but daggone, not only is GBS probably more expensive than chicken feed as it is, now I get to add who knows how much in gas to get it.

Well, like I said, I'll find some. I just like to fuss whenever I can. [​IMG] Anybody else have trouble finding GBS locally?

2. Stellar

Stellar The Quail Lady

Feb 6, 2010
    Tampa Bay
    Usually feedstores can order it if you kindly ask.

Worst comes to worst get some top notch chick starter or turkey starter of 24% or higher.

Protein is key so if you can find soybean meal or an alternative to bump up the protein you are good to go.

I will get back here with more suggestions. Busy day.

3. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    I have a feed store five min from my house but they only get 24% fed, so I drive 45 min to get purina 30%.

What party of the country you live in?

4. chrishel

chrishel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2011
    The Windy City
    I have the same issue. But in my case, I don't have many feed stores. I have one.