Darn it...cocci! And the feed stores JUST closed...

KristaChickenWhisperer

Songster
11 Years
Sep 1, 2008
Lake Stevens, WA
I think one of my new babies has cocci. I found some suspicious looking poo in the brooder. They are on medicated feed, and their water is mixed with vitamins and electrolytes. So I am kinda confused to as how one of them may have contracted it.

Anyway the feed stores just closed so I have no way to get any corid tonight! Will the babies be ok? Is there anything else I can do?

I am so frustrated! I have had rotten luck with chicks this year. The first batch I got had respiratory problems.
he.gif
and the second batch arrived 2 days late from the hatchery and were so weak they didn't make it.
he.gif

Last edited:
I'm so sorry. I am not aware of any other treament. If they're on medicated feed, I would think that the chick will make it until tomorrow. But I am no expert. Maybe someone else would know? Hang in there!
hugs.gif

Thank you!! Hopefully someone will know. I am hoping the medicated feed will hold the disease off until tomorrow morning.

So far none of them have any other symptoms other than what looks like blood in the poo.

They should be okay till tomorrow. Meanwhile, if you have some non-fat dry milk, add some into their crumble or give plain yogurt or buttermilk--those help soothe the intestines.

Chicks can certainly contract cocci while on medicated feed. The levels in starter are quite low. If it's just one pinkish poop, could be shedding intestinal lining and not necessarily cocci.

I put apple cider vinegar in my chicks, now adolescents water and never had them on antibiotics. I've had no trace of cocci or worms. You don't need a lot, a splash/gallon.