Day 13 Turkey Egg Question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by trimpy, May 22, 2010.

1. trimpy

trimpy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2010
    Grafton, WV
    I have 10 blue slate turkey eggs in the incubator. Since this is my first time hatching anything, I am very unsure as to what is supposed to be happening. I made a candling rig out of a spare brooder lamp, a 40w lightbulb and a piece of cardboard with a hole in it. I have used this setup a few times and have looked at all my eggs... I can see the air bubble at one end, then it is completely dark until the tip where I can see light through the egg. I have not seen anything else.

Is the big dark area the yolk and have all my eggs failed to start? Should I crack one open and take a look?

2. msheets

msheets Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Hurricane, WV
    Do you see any veins? I always look for veins first, then I look to see if there's any other signs like movement or possibly the outline of the chick's body. I'm pretty new as well...

3. trimpy

Mar 13, 2010
    Grafton, WV
    Nope, no veins.. just a uniformly dark middle 75% of the egg.

4. trimpy

Mar 13, 2010
    Grafton, WV
    Double post

Last edited: May 23, 2010
  5. Lotsapaints

Lotsapaints Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2010
    Paso Robles, CA