Day 18 and air cell too large!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by popsie, Apr 15, 2008.

1. popsie

popsie Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2008
    Doncaster, England
    Hi everyone, I'm a complete newbie to incubating and hatching and I have just found this site and I think it's fantastic!

I have 8 silkie eggs on day 18 - I've just took them out of the automatic turner and filled up both water troughs in my hova bator still air incubator. I have kept the temperature at 100 degrees throughout, but I'm really worried about my humidity - I have a chicktec humidity gauge and the recommendation for chickens on this is between 20% and 42% relative, so I've kept mine at around 30%, however I now know this is much too low and I am absolutely panicing.

I started with 12 fertilized eggs, 1 infertile, 1 bloodring, 2 stopped developing around day 10 - 12. Tonight I candled the 8 I have left, I'm pretty sure the air cell is too large (between 30 and 40 percent of the egg), the rest is a dark mass but I definitely can see movement. I'm worried my chicks will be stuck to the shell. Is there anything I can do at this late stage - I'm raising the humidity for the last 3 days and its 75% on the chicktec gauge at the moment.

I know deep in my heart it's too late to do anything now but I'm so worried and am just praying I haven't done too much damage.

Why would the chicktec gauge recommend such a low relative humidity when it is so obviously wrong? I really thought I was doing it all right.

I still can't help being hopeful and am so excited that I may get some chicks - these have been the longest 18 days of my life and the next 3 will seem forever.

Thanx for listening everyone.

2. steffpeck

steffpeck Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2007
    Erda, UT