Day 18 Lockdown Questions

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CarlieO, Jan 3, 2014.

1. CarlieO

CarlieO Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2013
    WA
    Hello! I'm a newbie to the whole hatching thing so I have a few questions for all you pros. I have 25 eggs in my incubator, all from my awesome hens and my 3 roosters. I've candled on day 10 and day 18 (today). Both days show viable, moving embryos in 22 of the 25 eggs. 3 are questionable. So with today being day 18 I took them off the automatic turner (removed the turner from the incubator altogether) and placed them on their side on the wire mesh floor of the incubator (above the water trays for humidity) as the instructions say.

Am I doing it correctly so far? I know the temp will be cooler on the floor of the incubator, I have a thermometer to appropriately adjust to maintain 99.5 down there.

At this point do I just let them be and wait for them to hatch?

Also, when they do hatch do I leave the chicks in there until they all are hatched and dry or do I take them out one at a time as they hatch and dry and place them in my brooder? I just wanna do it right! Fingers crossed I haven't done something wrong!!

Thank you in advance for all the advice I hope will come. :)

2. Jessshan8

Jessshan8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2012
    Kalispell, Mt
    You are doing everything right so far. A couple things though:
    -99.5 is a standard not the rule. The temp could go down to 98.5 and everything will be just fine( much debate in this area though among individuals )
    - chicks can hatch anywhere from 20 to 23 days of incubation most if not all will hatch on the 21st day.
    - chicks do not immediately need water and food and can live for three days on the absorbed yoke.
    ******* do not open incubator during the hatching process. you will loose much needed humidity. (you might feel the need to "help a chick hatch" this will likely injure the chick and possibly kill it)******