Day #2 of a loooonnnnnnggggg 21 days.....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by amynbrent, Jun 13, 2011.

1. amynbrent

amynbrent Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Dryden, MI
    Well my hen seemed to get attached to one egg and I didnt have the heart to take it from her. We are on day two and so far so good. I am new to chickens this spring and I got a pair of D'Uccles from a freind that are a year old. Lilley has already hatched some before I got her so she's a pro. I just dont know what to do with this little guy when he comes. I have 40 9 weekers right now. If they kill it I would just die. I plan on seperating her soon and giving her her own cage but introducing this baby into the flock later on I'm afraid of what will happen. Well this is a whole new experience for us!

2. justtoni44

justtoni44 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2010
    oregon
    HI, Any chance you can let her have a few more eggs???????????? so the new one can have a companion......

Are you planning to let Mom raise the baby?????
    Perhaps that is what you meant.. I'm a little confused but also working on my first cup of coffee..........[​IMG]
    How the chick is intrduced depends.....I am sure you did not mean to add it to the other chicks when it hatches.......
    It would not make it.............
    Anyway, a little more information would be helpful to give you better information.
    How exciting for you........
    Good Luck and have fun

3. amynbrent

Mar 15, 2011
    Dryden, MI
    I should clarify more...lol