Day 21 of Incubation

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by minihorsemama, May 6, 2017.

1. minihorsemama

minihorsemama Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2017
    I'm new to this world of incubation. This is my first time. I've done everything in preparation for incubating chicken eggs. OK, it's day 21. Nothing, no external pipping & I don't know if there's been internal pipping.Moments before lock down, I candled the eggs & they were very much alive. Air sack seemed to be correct in size & angle. The only problem I can see is, the eggs are in an LG & I'm getting frustrated with the, in my opinion, temperature & humidity readings. I have a thermometer & humidity gauge in the incubator because the digital read out of the LG is way different than the reading of the thermometer & humidity gauge. I didn't find this out until a few days before lock down. I wonder if the chicks are still alive at this point. I'd appreciate all help with this. Thanks! In advance.

2. Erka97

Erka97 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2017
    You can still candle them to make sure, and to see if they've pipped internally yet.
    If your temperatures have been on the low side, the chicks will probably be a bit late in hatching.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    One, don’t give up hope. Chicks don’t always hatch right on schedule. For many different reasons they can be early or late by a couple of days and you still get good hatches.