day 22 still nothing!!! what do i do? help or not????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by daniellenoel, May 12, 2010.

1. daniellenoel

daniellenoel Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Vail Colorado
    we are on day 22. using a brinsea advance
    all eggs had good chicks moving before we went into lockdown
    temp has been steady the whole time. 99.6
    humidity was good 1st 18 days 43%-46%
    lockdown started and the humidity took a while to get above 60% it has stayed at 65% until this morning it was down to 50%
    got it back up to 65%-66%
    some eggs look like they were moving but have seemed to stop
    my question???
    how long do i wait before helping?? and HOW do I help???
    could it be that they have pipped on the bottom and can't hatch out???
    I am very new at this would love some help
    This is a 2nd grade project with my class so I do not have access to a warm shower with lots of humidity to open up the bator
    I am adding water through a straw through the vents to keep humidity up

Please help?? My class is so anxious and I am not sure if we will have any hatch!!
    UGH

2. bigstack

bigstack Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2010
    Texarkana, TX
    If everything is good (temp-Humidity) I would just wait! It can take longer. I have had them take 25 days myself! I try to keep humidity up to 65-90% for lock down. But they may just be a lil behind schedule. No worries yet! Hang in there. Try tapping on the glass/plastic and cheeping to them. It sounds funny but it works for me.

Good Luck and God Bless!

3. daniellenoel

Apr 22, 2009
    Vail Colorado
    thanks
    we are peeping a little bit
    the egg that keeps moving is the biggest/brown egg in there Not sure what kind of chick. But when we peep we see it move a little
    I will try to get the humidity up a little more...
    it is so hard not being able to watch all night. I have to leave school and hope it is all okay over night
    GOSH I hate waiting