Day 23 having doubts...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Freya, Oct 12, 2011.

1. Freya

Freya Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011
    Granville
    This is my first time hatching eggs and these last few days have been an emotional rollercoaster. Today is day 23. I started with 8 eggs and only 1 made it to lock down [​IMG] Day 19 I saw some tiny cracks, but not all the way through (wondering if it's just a shell mark and I want it to be a crack, or if it's an actual crack) I was so excited that it was almost that time! Nothing. The next day I went in to see if there was any progress, the light burned out and the temp dropped to 77 degrees. I panicked rushing around trying to find a new bulb. I had to go in and change the whole lamp out with a new one, so yes, that meant opening the incubator (homemade). About 2 hours later, I checked on it again and the temp was at 106!!! I had to again open the incubator change the lamp back because I realized that the bulb was fine, someone just turned off the switch to the outlet it was plugged into. There is now tape on the switch so no one messes with it. The humidity is high 60's and the temps been between 99-100 since. But still no change for the egg.
    Is there any safe way to check the egg to see if it's still alive? They are silkie eggs. I've been wanting a silkie and I figured what better way then to hatch my own. Since there's only one making it, I figured it be my special little chickie, but now I'm concerned.

Any thoughts to the situation?

Thanks!

2. stoopid

stoopid Chicken Fairy Godmother

Aug 3, 2011
    Long Island, NY
    The quickest thing you can do without bobbing it in water or candleing it, is just put it to your ear. It will just "sound alive" if it is. Little clicking, or gurgle sounds. If you peep to it, it may peep back. Scratch on it, to make a noise to it.
    I hope you get something! If the temp was down, it may have delayed the hatch, but at day 23, I wouldn't be so sure.