Day 26. Silkie Eggs. Nothing. Now what?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by averytds, May 11, 2009.

1. averytds

averytds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2008
    KS
    My DDs class is doing the hatching. It's now day 26 and no chicks. The teacher and I established Plan B at the beginning. Plan B- after school while my DH watches the kids at home, I run to the feed store, get some chicks, meet teacher and swap the chicks and eggs.

Should we implement this now? Is all hope lost? Candle and if movement wait a few more days? Crack them open?

Any help is appreciated. This is the first time for us, so we're unsure what to do.

2. jhart101

jhart101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2009
    Clayton, NC
    Personally at 26 days I would not hold out much hope. Candle first and see what may have happened. What was your temp? any spikes or drops? What was humidity?

I'm not an expert by far...so you may want to wait for others to advise...but gas the car for the trip to buy the chicks...[​IMG]

3. averytds

Jul 9, 2008
    KS
    Temps were a constant 100 throughout. Not sure about the humidity. Turned twice a day. Days 22 and 23 there was some slight movement by 5 out of the 14 eggs. Nothing stinky, leaking or oozing. The all look exactly like they did on day 1.

We planned to candle after school today, but weren't sure what to do after that. Will we even be able to see movement or will everything just be fairly solid shaded? If we do see anything, do we just put them back and keep waiting? Crack them open?

If we've got no chance at anything and with the distance to the feed store, we'll have to put them back for the night and perform the switch tomorrow. So cracking any open would have to wait until then. I've already found a feed store about 1 and 1/2 hours away that assured me they have plenty of bantam babies.

4. jhart101

jhart101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2009
    Clayton, NC