Day 5...curious about Pipping

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Shogun99, Sep 9, 2008.

1. Shogun99

Shogun99 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2008
    Las Cruces, NM
    This is my first hatch and I'm new to the hatching/incubating process. I've seen some people refer to the piping that goes on near day twenty or so. My question is...what exactly is piping? Is that when they peep and if so is there anything you should do for them, or help them out?

What are some key things I should know and when one chick gets out, should I let him roam in the bator for a day or so until the others hatch or pull him out and put him in the brooder? Advice?

2. Hooterville

Hooterville Chillin' With My Peeps

Piping is when the chick starts his exit from the shell. Often the little break in the shell will resemble a triangle shape.
    From here the chick will start pecking around the circumfrence of the shell (called zipping).
    Then hopefully the top pops off and the little one can work its way out. [​IMG]

Hopefully you will not have to help the chick out--My last hatch I did have to help 2 but that was due to having humidity problems. My two had pipped and started their zip but then they became stuck due to the membrane being too dry. Let me say that it can take quite a while sometimes for a chick to go from pip to hatch. Up to 3 days. So don't get in a hurry to help them. [​IMG]

I ended up having to moisten the membrane and then carefully chipped away the shell pieces until the lid popped off.

You really want to avoid having to do this so try to keep your temps and humidty right. [​IMG]

From what I understand, you can leave a newly hatched chick in the bator for up to 48 hours. It really doesn't need to eat or drink for that time. Some people remove their chicks as soon as they're dry and fluffy so that the newbies don't run all over the others that may be trying to hatch.

Hope this helps and let us know how it goes! [​IMG]

3. roosty