Day 5- Golden Laced Polish struggling to thrive

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by smac324, Jul 29, 2011.

1. smac324

smac324 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2011
    North Alabama
    I'm a newbie. It's day 5 and my chicks are growing well... except for one, my golden laced polish. Yesterday morning, it became clearly noticeable that she, Mable, was not as active as the other chicks. She became clumsy, was peeping continuously, and stopped wanting anything to eat or drink. I quickly went into action, check the temperature (90 degrees), and began to wonder and worry. I love the fact that before I got my chicks, I spent hours upon hours reading many different posts here at BYC and I recalled a few things to do. My laptop has been with me in the garage with my chicks while I check the www to make sure I'm doing things as best I can and keep an eye on those cute little peepers. I have melted for hours on end. I live in the South and it is hot in my garage. I only have to turn on the heat bulb at night because we are having 95 degree temperatures this week.

Checked her hind-end and there was a bit of dried poo but nothing that stopped her up. I quickly washed and dried her as she continued her peeping. I added a small amount of olive oil which may not have been the best thing to do because the other chicks later decided that her feathers needed preening and were tasty. I separated her for the rest of the day and she peeped all the more. She really wanted to be with her girlfriends who were just on the other side of the cardboard box. It seems that when I increase the temperature to 95 everyone is too warm, except for Mabel. 90 degrees is perfect for all but one, hmmm. She will not get to the warm side without her friends. Hopefully this will work it's way out as time goes by. Any tips for this problem would be greatly appreciated as I feel that her peeping is from being chilled.