Day 7 Candling Photos - Feedback please.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by oochygoochygoo, Apr 12, 2012.

1. oochygoochygoo

oochygoochygoo New Egg

Apr 3, 2012
    This is my first time incubating eggs. I'm using a homemade incubator and started out with 4 eggs - 1 is brown, the others range from olive to light blue. I candled them at about 2pm... tonight (4/12) at 9:45pm would mark Day 7. This is also my first experience candling. All of the photos I've seen here have been helpful and so I wanted to contribute what I can to the community as well. These are unedited photos and I know they aren't exactly focused as well as some of the others I've seen, but here they are nonetheless!

I was hoping to get some feedback from those of you with more experience. Specifically with eggs 1 and 2.

Egg 1: I'm not sure if this is an early quitter or if it is just difficult to candle through the brown shell.
    [​IMG]

Egg 2: Pretty sure this one is clear.
    [​IMG]

Egg 3: This shell is shaped slightly irregularly, but I could clearly make out the spider like embryo and network of blood vessels.
    [​IMG]

Egg 4: This one I could clearly see the embryo & blood vessels - I even saw movement!
    [​IMG]

2. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    I tossed a bunch that looked like #2 today and ours have been in 8 days.
    My duck eggs at day 7 had lots of stuff going on.

There is a line on the left side of #1. Not sure what that is from the pic. I'd save it and check in a couple more days.

3. yasmin

yasmin Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2012
    Birmingham uk
    I put mine in on the7/4/12 I put in 4 eggs and one of them is a double yoker I have candled them today and they look like the ones you have shown. so that has put my mind at ease thanks!

4. DoodleLydoo

DoodleLydoo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2010
    The first one looks like it is starting a blood ring. The second one looks clear and 3 and 4 look good.