Day old chic! I helped hatch. When can I put her back with Mom? - Help please

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Kerrie Ann, Aug 2, 2013.

1. Kerrie Ann

Kerrie Ann Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2011
    Berkley , Ma
    I have a day old chic. I had to help her hatch. Mom accidental stepped on the shell and than when she was trying to help with the shell I saw blood. This is my first time, so I kind of panicked. This chic seems to be doing well. She is eating and drinking from a straw. I tried to put her back with Mom last night, but when I went back she was not near her anymore. She did not hurt her she just was not warming her up. She also has a week old chic in with her and two other eggs she is sitting on.

Help what do I do next.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. TimBaumann

TimBaumann Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2012
    Namibia
    Very often a hen will not accept the chick again. But you should give it a try. Many people say that you could place the chick under her at night. I haven't tried that yet because I don't want to wake up to a dead chick. But you should try to put it back under her. You said she is still sitting on some other eggs. If she is still brooding on the eggs I think you'll have a very good chance of putting the chick under the hen again. It only becomes difficult once the hen has stopped brooding no the eggs.
    Good luck

3. coolmind1999

coolmind1999 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2013
    If I were u I'd keep it with me after all its a life and like tim pointed I hate to wake up to a dead chick that could have survived if I had kept it
    But maybe u could sneak it under her if ur not ready for it

Last edited: Aug 2, 2013
  4. Kerrie Ann

Jul 22, 2011
    Berkley , Ma
    I have great news the mother took her in with np. I tried in the moring. She been following mom all day. All seems good. Keep my fingers crossed.

5. TimBaumann

Apr 8, 2012
    Namibia
    Great. then you are one of the lucky people :)